## Illinois Association for Floodplain & Stormwater Management Wins 2019 ASFPM Outstanding Chapter Award

-Published by ASFPM, June 2019

Congratulations to Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management for being named ASFPM Outstanding Chapter for 2019. The outstanding chapter award recognizes an ASFPM chapter for their exemplary practices and activities that deserve national recognition. It seeks to acknowledge distinguished works by a chapter in going above and beyond its mission

that can be shared and replicated by other ASFPM chapters. The Outstanding Chapter Award is not given to any individual leaders, but to the chapter as a whole to recognize their abilities to promote sound floodplain management through teamwork. And although we emphasize that the activity is replicable, there are few chapters which have brought their work more directly to the doorstep of a community in need.

This year, the outstanding chapter award went to the nation's oldest and one of the largest professional floodplain management associations. In an effort to assist communities after a flood, and recognizing that many NFIP communities are small with limited staff, in 2015 IAFSM created the Rapid Assistance Flood Team, or RAFT, to provide volunteer assistance with post-flood activities including substantial damage determinations. These response teams are all active chapter members, all CFMs, and represent local, state and federal government as well as private sector and other professional disciplines. All RAFT team members are volunteers who have agreed to assist communities in times of need. Since its creation in 2015, RAFT has been deployed 4 times. In 2018 they developed the Rapid Assistance Flood Team Guidance document which helps local officials understand

how to request assistance from IAFSM's RAFT program and helps the community better understand their responsibilities. The guidance document is available online.

Also marking the 25th anniversary of this chapter's largest mitigation effort following the Great Midwest Flood of 1993, IAFSM developed a video which documents their

efforts and points out that their work is not done. The video was presented in the opening plenary of the 2018 IAFSM annual conference in Tinley Park, Illinois and was followed by a panel discussion of local, state, USACE and FEMA officials



L-R: Ajay Jain, Bryan Martindale, Glenn Heistand, Molly O'Toole and Dallas Alley (all members of IAFSM) accept the Outstanding Chapter Award in Cleveland, Ohio.